What to do if you are running low on (or out of) baclofen

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Disclaimer: I am not a doctor or medical professional.

Now is a good time to give some general information on what to do if you are running low on baclofen, if you can no longer obtain baclofen from your regular supplier, or if you run out.

Why this is important:

Abruptly stopping baclofen, or stopping too rapidly, can cause withdrawal symptoms in any person that has been taking baclofen at any dose level for any length of time.

Severe withdrawal symptoms usually occur more frequently in people who have been taking higher doses for longer periods of time, but everyone's individual body chemistry is different and your experience may vary.

Titrating Down Safely (and comfortably):

It's been widely recommended that anyone who wants (or needs) to taper down or off baclofen do so by decreasing no more than 10mg/d per week. That means if you are taking 200mg/day, it's week one at 200mg, week two at 190mg, etc.

There are reports of people on MWO who have been able to taper down faster than that with little or no trouble. Once again everyone's individual experience will be different and it's better to err on the safe side and have enough spare medication to go at the pace your body needs to go.

It's my firm recommendation that *everyone* that makes the decision to use baclofen, whether it be by self-medicating with pills/liquid purchased online, or through a bona-fide physician, take whatever steps necessary to secure enough baclofen to always have on hand to titrate down safely and comfortably in the event of an emergency.

How much baclofen to always have at hand to taper down at 10mg/d per week:[/b]

Code:

daily dose in mg        total mg needed    # of 10mg pills
    10		        70                7
    20			210              21
    30			420              42
    40			700              70
    50			1050            105
    60			1470            147