New

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New

Hello all, my handle is Seeker1. I have been drinking for 4 decades and fighting this addiction since I was 19. I have made great strides over the last decade in reducing my intake and having the goal of abstaining fully. I am a binge drinker now, there was a time I was a daily functioner, but I finally broke that circle a few years ago. Binge drinking sucks also. I have still hurt all those that love me. This Christmas I had it all, been sober for awhile, felt strong and in control. Then I had a mini binge. Ruined everybody's plans, lost the trust of those I love most. I thought I was past that, but obviously I wasn't. Been to and involved in AA many times over the years, have done the steps and so on. Been to rehab so many times I lost count. I have made so many positive life changes and I am so much better, but I just can't drink. So I am 19 days since my last drink, and I know I need support. At first I thought I was going to have to go back to AA, or go back to rehab. But isn't the definition of insanity doing the same thing over and over expecting a different result? I mean no disrespect whatsoever to the hallowed halls of AA, it helps so many, but for me I need something else. I felt lost and alone. I know I can lick this thing, I want to so much. So I put in a search string "alternatives to AA" and found out that I'm not alone in my thinking there are thousands of you guys out there that feel the same. So here I am. Thank you for having me...

Re: New

Welcome, Seeker. An online forum like this lacks the power of face-to-face support but makes up for it in being available instantaneously 24/7. At any moment you can access help - there is almost always someone here because we come from all over the world. And even if no one answers you, just read back -- different people but the stories, problems, and solutions are pretty much the same.