Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

My way out journey - the greysquirrel version

Hi guys,
    Noob here. Just started day 1 of trying to "fix" my head. Have not bought Roberta's book but it turns out I have been down a very similar path. Once I saw the excerpt, thought I would try a combination therapy like say mentioned to finally quit drinking before I give up and go to rehab. Took 25 mgs of topamax last night. Below is my backstory and a list of things I have already tried over the years.

Supplements (I've used the top 4 for weightlifting for years, glad to know they have other uses):
    Amino fuel
    B complex big 100
    vitamin c
    zinc
    folic acid
    l-glutamine
    NAC
    primerose
    ashwaganda
    l-tryptophan (for sleep and serotonin)

AA - didn't do much for me. I was young and I hate thinking I am utterly helpless, although against alcohol I may be (TBD)

Moderation management - helped get a few ABS days in but was hard to keep up the level of will power. The CBT I learned here helped.

The Sinclair Method - it works but not as much as I hoped for me, just ended up spacing out the episodes. I got off drinking daily because of it.

Hypnosis - helped me get my mindset into not wanting a drink, until I would get lax. Still listen to the tapes on occasion

Topamax - I am just starting this now. I can go weeks (like 2 or 3) without a drink but will power drops, I get lax, and the cravings kick in

This will be my last shot at trying to do this on my own. Got to face the music. I really wish I could just quit like my old man says "why don't you just quit" (thanks for the advance pops :cuss but alas it isn't so simple for me.