I don't trust myself

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I don't trust myself

I am new at this and just beginning my journey. I am ordering the book today and some of the other support things. I have tried on my own before, but always see to "give in" way too early and easily. It's like if I start to have that "I want to drink tonight" feeling, I just say, What the hell?! ...and throw in the towel and buy the wine.

I really want sobriety. I know how good it feels. My biggest obstacle is myself. I truly do not trust myself. I'm afraid of me. I'm afraid of the little devil inside of me that gives in waaay too easily. How do I toughen myself up and really get it and DO IT this time?

I usually drink when I am on the computer at night. I isolate myself and drink alone. I have no problems saying no in public or around people who "know I shouldn't drink". Except my family. They don't see me drink (because I hide it), but they are not dumb. They know I'm drinking and I'm afraid my husband is on his last leg with me....

I'm so afraid.
    Indifference is in your future with Baclofen. It works!

My frustration with Baclofen, which is shared by Dr. Oliver Ameisen, is that because Baclofen is an off patent medication there is no profit motive for drug companies to support clinical trials that would demonstrate its efficacy in treating addiction.

I don't trust myself

I know exactly how you feel. I don't trust myself at this point either. I often wonder if I ever will. You are in the right place.
    It is easier to ask for forgiveness than it is to get permission.

Comment

I don't trust myself

Dear help4me, hang on, just think about this minute, and then the next hour, it is the monster, not you. try to stay away from the isolation, it won't be easy, but stay around the people that care about you and do not want you to drink. Start thinking about doing things that are good for you even if their very smaall things. It will get easier.

Comment