Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Starting to panic.........

Hello there Long Termers....

Its my first time here int LTA, but I am trying everything I can to stay here. I was AF for nearly six months early last year, and was confident that I had it beat - that I was never going to drink again. I was really enjoying being sober - the benifits were amazing. After the first couple of months I couldn't believe I'd ever have have a problem again. I was taking campral and seeing my Dr every couple of weeks. Then, one weekend after spending an entire day in a pub, not drinking, I woke up and had decided I was going to buy a bottle and have " just a couple'. I did just that and it appeared to work - I went to bed after having only two drinks and felt really in control.

Within a week I was back to my old drunken self.

My dad died and my mum got really sick (cancer) in November. I drank too much. Way too much. So I decided that when I got home I was going to stop again. I started taking Campral, went to a self help group, bought and read books, got a counsellor and found a good friend who has been sober for a whole year. I even told my boss, my mum and all my friends that I was never going to drink again.

I've been sober for 44 days now. BUT, I am starting to panic.. I am soooo scared I am getting complacent again, that the obsession, the frenzy will return. I know that once I have convinced myself that I am going to drink, nothing will stop it. It's like someone else is inside my head (I know it's the addiction talking) but it takes over, and even while I am screaming "NO DON'T BUY IT", my addiction is there paying for the bottle and the excitment is starting to build.

I can feel the beginnings of it already - last time it took 6 months....

I know that I have to get myself back in the "zone". I know that I can talk myself around, but I am still having that panic. I don't think I can keep doing this forever, even though I know I must.

Flip