Mad at myself

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Mad at myself

:new: Hi to everyone. I can't believe the stories I'm reading on here. Many sound as though I could have written them. I've been drinking pretty regularly for the past 15 years or so, but it's gotten worse since I was divorced in 2000. I was married for 30 years and even tho I wasn't very happy, it was a shock to find out that my husband wanted out. Turned out he was having an affair...probably for several years and had been fighting depression. Guess cheating makes you depressed! I never have been able to tell him I now know he was cheating. (He got remarried almost right away). Anyway, I went on and have been living my life, bought a new house, have had responsible positions at work and I doubt anyone suspects that I have a drinking problem. I usually drink a bottle of wine each night, sometimes part of a second bottle. I don't always remember things I did like talk to someone on the phone or internet. I have a very nice boyfriend but he likes to drink too so that doesn't help a lot.
    My drinking pattern goes something like this...I drink the wine, collapse into bed and feel hungover the next morning. I decide that I will not EVER do that again. I stay determined until about midafternoon, when I start thinking, "oh well, one more night won't hurt. Tonight I'll only have a glass or two." Then I go by the store ( I always find I need something there anyway), buy the wine and go home and drink the whole bottle again. The next day the whole thing starts all over.
    I function at work but have trouble concentrating. At the moment I'm a nursing supervisor and don't need to be in a position to make a lot of mistakes.
    I've just ordered the book and the vitamin supplements this morning. I can't wait to get started and have decided that tonight I will not drink anything at all. I'm going to stick to it!