Trying to stop

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Trying to stop

I work in a bar environment about five days a week and Im allowed to drink while I am working it actually makes my job go by easier. i have been drinking for about almost 6 years. I stopped one time for a year. Then I started back up about 3 years ago. Now it has gotten worst I drink probalby easily 8-10 glasses of wine a night 5 days a week. I cant stop because I have to be around it for my job I cant get a new job because I wont make the money. i dont know what to do.
    When I said I work in a bar environment and it makes my job go by easier by drinking. I am an entertainer (stripper) and i do not enjoy it but it is the only means of a good income for my family.

Trying to stop

Welcome Leona....please stick around and read, read, read. I dont have any suggestions for your particular situation, but wanted you to know, this is a great place to be.
    This is no longer a drinking problem...it's a matter of Life or Death!!!

Comment

Trying to stop

Welcome, Leona. I hope you find the answers you are looking for here~ there are thousands of posts here. The good news is that there isn't a right or wrong answer, and ultimately, you'll know what you should do (easier said than done).

Different, but the same: have you ever talked to someone who's worked in a fast food restaurant for a couple of years? When they are working there, even though they get free or half priced food, they won't eat there, because they are "sick of it".... and when they finally do quit, they vow that they'll never eat at another BurgerQueen again!

If only it was that easy with alcohol.
      After all, you know it's not good. You said you are trying to stop.... it's too bad the little switch in your brain didn't read the memo, you know? Oftentimes, there is a physical addiction that must first be controlled before your brain has a chance to assume control of your body.