should I stay or go?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

should I stay or go?

Anybody else get up in the AM and feel like they live in squalor? I read that with AL w/drawal it's not a good time to separate, change jobs, etc. I'm still drinking, hubby has drug issue and has never really participates in household things. I feel like I'm drowning. Yesterday I looked around and I felt like I live with an undisciplined teenage boy. Actually I'm shutting down bit by bit. Maybe two people with addictions should not live together. I love him dearly but this life has got to change. I know I have to fix me first, but can I do it here? Addiction therapist says go away for a bit. But I'm scared. And there's the financial part too. Anybody have advice?
    sigpic
    Thoughts become things..... choose the good ones. ~TUT

should I stay or go?

holy shit. Sorry I am not good at advice like this. But your therapist sounds reasonable. What is your financial situation? Can you afford to leave? If so, I think that it is a good idea. Especially if you feel strong enough to go it alone. It also depends on how alcohol-dependent you are. Can you get through a day without? If so, you have a good starting point. Sorry I am not of more help. Others will come with better advice.
    Your time is limited, so don't waste it living someone else's life... And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.

Steve Jobs, Stanford Commencement Adress, 2005

Comment

should I stay or go?