Beginning of a Journey and already tired

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I am new here. I'm 43 and live in the UK. I've been drinking up to a hundred units a week for a few years (white wine) starting early evening and staying up late on my own carrying on until the bottles are empty. One night I wet the bed in front of my children and didn't even remember what I'd done. I blamed it on the dog. How shameful is that? I hated myself every morning but was functioning OK holding down a job managing a bookshop although feeling crap until had masked it with caffeine.

A few years ago I was diagnosed with a brain condition (cavernous angioma) which is a threat to my life. So I thought what the hell. I may die anyway; the self destructive attitude spiralled . I just didn't care; I was clinically depressed. My friends drink a lot; I used this to justify my behaviour. I still have difficulty accepting how bad it was; I haven't arrived there yet. I felt I deserved it; a great treat and making me feel really good until I didn't care any more.

Now I've got a prescription for Campral been on it for 4 or 5 days and have not anything for 20 days. I've been here before but always started again. I haven't been out of the house for three weeks ; I'm afraid to face real life without a drink I can do it but only if I stay in bed between 5 and 9 and drink cups of tea. Can I do it in real life? When I come back from the bookshop I just want to reach for the bottle. The other thing is I'm not eating either as if I am trying to punish myself somehow.

I have two girls 7 and 11; a tolerant husband and a good if boring home life. How am I going to get myself into a non drinking frame of mind ? I feel like I can do 30 days but will start again on Day 31; right now the motivations aren't there. I'd love to be a moderate drinker but I'm not sure if this is an option for me. I feel tired and self pitying!