baclofen dilemma

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

baclofen dilemma

Hi-- I read the messages on this site all the time (although I rarely post) and can't seem to find a great solution a problem I've been having with baclofen that it seems like others have as well. Namely, the amount of baclofen I need to take on a daily basis in order to "flip the switch" and stay AF turns me into a zombie--granted, a relaxed, anxiety-free zombie that sleeps like a baby, but a zombie no less. I'm a professor so I work almost completely on my own schedule when I'm not teaching and this extreme somnolescence makes it nearly impossible for me to get research and writing done. I just have to zone out or take a nap instead of work. I do okay in meetings where I would embarrass myself if I fell asleep, but when I'm alone and need to really concentrate and think hard, I'm a mess.

For me, the zombie state only requires about 60 mg spaced throughout the day. I'm 5'8, 140 pounds and I've been titrating up on the bac for 7-8 weeks now (w/ a 1.5 week interruption for a vacation when I took it intermittently). And of course, the problem is that if I drop too much below this "magical" amount in order to wake up and get things done, I find myself craving wine, beer, you name it--and then eventually cave.

I can't drink coffee or take in too much caffeine in general because it makes me jittery and gives me terrible insomnia. For example, if I drink a Diet Coke at 4pm, I'll likely have a hard time falling asleep at midnight!

I know a few people have mentioned taking adrafinil to help with the baclofen sleepiness/zombie problem. I'm willing to order some from an online pharmacy abroad and try it but worry about taking it since it's not FDA approved in the US. Also, the info on this drug on the internet is pretty sparse. Apparently it's rough on your liver?