trying to abstain

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

trying to abstain

Well I am new to the monthly abstinence forums and think this might be a good place for me. I am not new to stopping drinking and then starting and so on we go. Am going to some AA meetings and also another form of group therapy. All compounded with a huge professional workload and family responsibilities that can't be avoided - like lots of people. :new:

trying to abstain

Hello & welcome treetops,

Glad you decided to join us
    Getting off the roller coaster of stopping, starting & stopping again is a tremendous relief!
    For me it was all about finally being truthful with myself & accepting that I can no longer drink AL.

Use the Tool box for ideas to help you expand on your plan & vist & post often.
    Being accountable for your actions really helps!

Wishing you the best!

Lav
    AF since 03/26/09
    NF since 05/19/09
    Success comes one day at a time :thumbs:

Comment

trying to abstain

TTs: I just noticed your post. There is an AA weekly thread you might find interesting. I tried & tried to get sober before joining AA & just couldn't maintain. I found that I needed the face-to-face contact w/other alcoholics in order to stay sober for the 3 years I have now. I take my sobriety one day at a time. Any day I don't drink is a good day for me. Good luck. Mary
      Wisdom, Courage, Strength
      October 3, 2012

Comment

trying to abstain

Hi treetops..how are you?:welcome:.The number of people that are on this site who have been in the same position as yourself is a significant number..me included.Some can take it and leave it some cant..me I cant and seems like you are in that category too.Lav has got it right..the first step is to get your mindset round the fact that for you alcohol is a no no.Ther is plenty of support here so welcome and please join in.
        Mick
        af since the fourth of July 2012...howzat then America..now proudly marching into year 12