Time for a change

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Time for a change

I have never done the forum thing before. After reading some of the other comments I thought you guys are a good bunch of people, and this could be helpful for me. I have never been to AA, but a friend of mine had, and it never worked for him, he died in '99 of booze related illnesses. My friends think I am following in his footsteps.
    I have a wife and 2 young kids, we live in Australia.
    I have always enjoyed a beer or 2 after work, but now its beer, wine and a few spirits to finish the night and myself. I don't smoke cigarettes, or do any hard drugs. Alcohol is the demon for me.
    It all came to a head last weekend at a party, where I got so drunk that I remember very little. Apparently I made a real idiot of myself and abused people, which is totally out of character for me, I was always the "happy" drunk. I think the booze is really changing me and I have lost control. I spent most of the day ringing people to appologise for my stupid behaviour, I never want to do that again! Its time for a change. I have not had a drink today because I felt sick in the stomach for what I had done. But I know tomorrow I will feel like one again. I need to stop this! Talking to like minded people might be just what I need. HELP!

Time for a change

Hey Moose - or should I say "Goodday" (sorry!!)
    Welcome! You have come to a great place, trust me. Everyone is so supportive and will not judge you. Like you, I used to be a happy drunk but recently I've become a really nasty drunk and say lots of very hurtful things to my husband. There, see - you're not alone. Keep reading and posting and try the whole program - everyone says it has really helped them (I'm just starting out so can't speak from experience yet)