How do you moderate?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How do you moderate?

I'm quite new at all of this so forgive me if this has all been explained somewhere before. I just had some questions and thought this was probably the best forum to post under.

I usually drink something every night, about half a bottle of wine and then more on the weekends. That's too much for me and I don't like the way it makes me feel overall so I'm trying to give myself boundaries. Just tried doing 30 days without alcohol...went about two weeks good but then I slipped and had two glasses of wine. After that one slip I just went back into what I was doing before. The last few days (Fri,Sat,Sun) I polished off two and a half bottles of red again. I'm so upset and frustrated with myself.

The main question I had is, with the whole moderating thing, how does it work? Do any of you do it so that you won't drink anything all week, and then only have something on the weekends? Or do you drink one week and then have one week off? I am not sure what sort of boundaries I should shoot for long-term, and I want to hear about those of you who have successfully moderated and how it worked...and also, if you start "needing" and "craving" less as you drink less? Does it eventually take less to relax you, etc.

Thank you all so much. You're all amazing and I could spend hours on here just reading through all these threads. There is such a wealth of support on this site!!:h

:new:

How do you moderate?

Hi,
    What a beautiful picture. How to mods? Not easy to answer cos everyone is different.

When I first joined here I began to exercise, read the book " My Way Out" took the advice contained therein, read lots of info on here and set myself limits with a points system. I had to achieve 10 points a week.

1 point for every walk ( proper walk - not to the fridge and back) and one for every mods / AF night.