Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Trying to make it through

Hello everyone,

I found this site a few months ago and read a lot of information in it and it helped me but I was not ready to quit then. Now I am! Here is my story along with a couple of questions that I would like your opinion on. I've been drinking heavily for about 3 years with this year bringing on alot of things that would push a person over the edge. In February, I got DUI, in May wy wife and I got into it and the police got called and I went to jail for 2 weeks for spousal abuse (I did not hit her, but I did push her to be honest). I have been with the same woman for 20 years with no history of physical abuse whatsoever. We have 3 kids and I know they love me but they don't like me when I drink. When I got out jail, I stayed with a friend for a short time before he asked me to leave. I have uncles who went into programs and suggested that for me but I was in denial and thinking (I'm not going into no program), nevertheless, I was there in less than a week. The whole time I was there, I was listening and sharing with the thought that I was better than they were, didn't do what they did and had more. But while I was in there, I excelled. Within my first few weeks, I was elected to the leadership council at the facility, had favor with the counselors and was thinking clear. I went to court on the DUI case and when the judge found out that I was in treatment, she gave me favor as well.