Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

A symptom...or a true personality change?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hi...I'm pretty new here, though I think I may have posted once before. I am still drinking and have noticed lately that I don't care anymore about a lot of things that used to mean a great deal to me...like my gardens, my reef tank, my house. I still go to work and perform fine there ( I'm a nurse ). I've been thinking very much lately that I need to get my drinking under control...but has anyone else had the experience of not caring about stuff?

Yes, Ma'am. I let everything slip. My garden, my home, my marriage. Obtaining AL, hiding it, consuming it, disposing of empties became my world. I did my job ok, but nothing special...I work from home, and started drinking earlier and earlier in the day. I was starting to drink at 10:30 am on weekends. Someone on here asked my why 10:30? That's as long as I could hold out. I started making rules about AL and then breaking them. My life was beginning to revolve around it. So absolutely, AL addiction can make you not give a crap about anything else. In fact, once you quit, you will find that getting back to those things that once interested you is quite therapeutic. If AL is causing you a problem, you have a problem with AL. It's not a bad thing! Recognizing it is all part of it. Come on over to the Newbie's Nest and get started today on reclaiming your life. The link is below. Also be sure to check out the Tool Box it's full of helpful tips and coping skills to help you get thru the first challenging days. We are so glad you are back. Welcome aboard!! Byrdie
    All you gotta do, is get thru this day. AF 1/20/2011
    Tool Box
    Newbie's Nest

Comment