starting campral soon...some questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hey Everyone I plan on starting Campral in the next couple days or so and i have a question! My doc wants to start me on just one 333mg pill a day in order to avoid side effects and move up from there. However i'm wondering if a dosage this low would even benefit me? Should i maybe start with 333 2x a day instead? How common are campral side effects anyways? From what i hear they are very low. Anyways:thanks: any advice suggestions would be wonderful!

:welcome: dirty birdy,

I used to take campral (acamprosate) just over 6 years ago and got about 5/6months sobriety on it until I chose to drink again.

As I'm not a doctor, sorry can't advise on your dosage, but although this is an old thread there's plenty of advise in it. Just click on the link below.

https://www.mywayout.org/community/f2...tes-38480.html

There's also some masses of different information on cravings and how to manage them in the tool box link.

https://www.mywayout.org/community/f1...box-27556.html

J x
    :l
    It could be worse, I could be filing.
    AF since 7/7/2009

Comment

Thanks for the fast response Jackie. I'll be sure to check out those links on my break. Btw Did you happen to have any side effects on campral? And when you started did you start on the fulldose and taper up slow>? Appreciate the help

Comment

Crikey, now you're asking. It seems so long ago.

Now don't quote me, but I think I started at 2 tablets x 3 times daily and felt pretty nauseous most of the time. I went back to the doctor and he cut them down to 1, 3 x daily. I was fine from then on.
        It could be worse, I could be filing.
        AF since 7/7/2009

Comment

Sorry! If i had a time machine i could have asked you earlier but i don't so i cant.