Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tired of Being Sick and Tired. Day 1 Newbie

Hello all.

I have been drinking for the last 10 years. Started out with half bottle of wine to as of today 1.5 bottles of 750 ml bottle per night, 2 on weekends.

I have not been working for the last 6 months and I am finding myself not being able to get out of bed and count the hours till 6 pm when I can have that first drink just to make me feel good.

I have major anxiety, dizziness and just an overall fog in my head except for those hours between 6 and 10 where I let the wine come over me. I cannot do this any more.

I think I am at a point where my mind isnt even making endorphines without the alchohol.
    I am pretty sure that I cannot quit cold turkey. So the tapering off begins.

Any suggestions as to time frame I should take to taper down without any bad withdrawels?
    I just cannot keep living this way. I have prescritpion for xanax that I take for anxiety daily as well.
    You are all so inspiring and I hope this will be the beginning of a wonderful new life for me. I need it.

Thanks for listening.

Hi Winegal, i too drank for ten years. I did taper instead of cold turkey, i reduced my drinking everyday for 7 days and started later each day. You have to be really committed to tapering because for many people it is just not possible. I also did Smart Recovery (started before i tapered) so i could start the process in my mind. It is an all out war that you have to fight against this. You will need many weapons and a good support system (i use this site and Smart) and be committed no matter what. It may seem hard af first but having a plan and changing your thinking will make it much easier than just hoping.

Keep posting and reading here. You can do this!
    AL free since March 17th 2011...loving this life. No drinking no matter what.

Hi my name is Lori and i am so happy to be here.

Comment