Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Weekly AA Thread - May 21 - May 27

Everyone:

Sometimes I forget to remember how much my life has changed in the 3 years since I stopped drinking. My husband & I just bought kayaks & have gone out on the water twice so far. This would have been unheard of in my drinking days. I would have been too scared to go, & I would not have wanted to "waste" precious drinking time. It hasn't been easy, as we're complete novices & senior citizens as well. But, the sense of well-being & accomplishment are priceless. I tend to forget how small my life had become while drinking. Instead of allaying my fears, alcohol backfired on me, & made them worse & worse. So, now I have to learn all over again how to take risks & do something new. Our risks aren't huge. We aren't white-water kayaking. But, just kayaking on a local lake or pond is huge for me.

I again marvel at how similar we alcoholics are. Regardless of how different a person's story is, there is always something to take away from it. Last night's story reminded me of how alone/isolated I was while drinking.

Mary
    Wisdom, Courage, Strength
    October 3, 2012

Just popping in because I'm finally starting the steps today, make one half assed attempt 2 years ago but my heart wasn't in it

I'm scared but excited that I will be cleaning house and moving on, too much old residue keeps popping up and putting my sobriey in danger so this action is important to me.

Wish me luck
    "When you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it"

Comment

SB: I do wish you luck. It will be hard work too. But, you absolutely owe it to yourself & your sobriety to work the steps start to finish w/a sponsor. I just completed my 6th & 7th steps (which will be a lifelong project). I'm now almost through all of them. It has made a big difference in my life.