Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Health consequences from drinking for 15 years

Dear board,

I have been drinking a bottle of wine every night or so for the last 15 years. I am 35 yrs old now. I ate and eat very healthy, drink lots of water, and exercise 3-4 times per week for the past 15 years as well.

What are the health consequences you think I can be facing if I permanently stop now? Liver, other organs, brain? Is it all recoverable?

Thank you.

I hope you get responses soon K. I am older than you, have drank longer than you, do not eat well, do not exercise, and i also smoke. I often wonder what damage I have and am doing to my body. I do know the body had an incredible healing mechanism so if and when we stop abusing it with AL, I am sure we have good chances of repair.

Comment

I've often heard it said that the liver will forgive but never forget. It is certainly recoverable and the fact that you were exercising will help. I guess the big thing now is stopping and then forgiving yourself for the past, right? What's done is done, so move forward from here....

Comment

I think so. I think you have an excellent chance of being in excellent health with full recovery. And yes the brain too.
        sigpic
        Thoughts become things..... choose the good ones. ~TUT

Comment

The body can usually heal from a fair amount of abuse. The liver is able to regenerate if it isnt irreparably damaged. I have heard it can up to 2 years to recover fully both mentally and physically from AL abuse although many benefits are felt way before that time.
          Living now and not just existing since 9th July 2008
          Nicotine Free since 6th February 2009

Comment