My Story

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

My Story

I am not sure if I am posting this in the right place or not, so bear with me. I am still learning my way around.

I am originally from York South Carolina.

I am 45 yrs old now, live in Florida and have been alcoholic since early childhood. My first drink came after I was molested by my stepfather at the tender age of 7. I discovered his "White lightening" kept in mason jars under the kitchen sink and went straight for the strong stuff. It did not end there.

My mom and stepdad were both construction workers and we moved from town to town state to state constantly. I never had a chance to bond with anyone. I was abused physically and mentally quite often by both of my drunken and drug laden parents.

By the time I was 16, I was a full blown alcoholic and attempted suicide for the first time (there would be 3 other attempts as well). I was a very disturbed young girl and was sent from one psychiatrist to another for several years. I would tell them what they wanted to hear rather than the horrible truth and all diagnosis back then were that I was normal... Yeah right!

I continued drinking and drugging (anything I could get my hands on really). I became pregnant and married at the age of 16. Before I even had my first born son I was already on my way to divorce. After his birth, he went to live in foster care and then later with my mother. The guiilt and shame of not being able to provide for my child drove me to drink even more.