First day...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

First day...

Hi all, this is my first time doing this publicly. A few years ago I was able to go AF for 18 months, then I started to slip into drinking socially, and for the past 18 months, it has just been really crazy. I just don't understand what happened, or why; I've got everything going for me, great job, recently married, relatively young; I have got my whole life in front of me, but can't seem to go more than a couple of weeks without having to have something to drink. I am going to be picking up the book and the supplements and what not, I just wanted to get my first post out of the way. I am doing this to save me from myself and hope that in turn, my new wife can start trusting me again. I feel like a failure; like everyone else gets to enjoy being able to have a drink and enjoy wine and scotch, but for some unknown reason, I have to be the fuck up that can't handle it... I go from depressed to angry to feeling sorry for myself, and there is no reason. I mean none. Anyways, as my login says, I am tryinghard; for me, for my future and for my beautiful new wife. Any tips or encouragement would be greatly appreciated...
    :new: But need all the help I can get!

First day...

Hello tryinhard and welcome. Trying to stop drinking had always been very difficult for me and I think most of us here. I can't seem to get beyond 15 days but I keep trying lie you. Just work on today, do not drink today and don't think about tomorrow or yesterday. Keep checking in here, everyone is very helpful and supportive. You have your whole life ahead of you and you can do this. Just keep trying hard! Again, welcome and all the best to you.
    When you come to the end of your rope, tie a knot and hang on.
    -- Franklin D Roosevelt --

Comment

First day...