Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

A new beginning

Hi,

I found the forum last night after Googling Campral. My doctor gave me a script for it yesterday and I took my first dose last night. I have been drinking for about 6 years now. It began innocently enough (as it often does) as a social activity with friends, but I began taking it home and I fear that it has become a real problem. My drink of choice is (was) Captain Morgan mixed with Coke.

This is actually my second go at Campral. I was on it for about two months back in 2006. At the time, I was unemployed and a full time college student. I also didn't process the medication through insurance so it was very costly and I couldn't afford it. I don't feel I was serious about cutting my drinking then anyway. Currently, I am in a much better financial situation, so the medication is affordable (you can't put a price on health anyway). I also feel that I am ready to fight this addiction tooth and nail.

I have been alcohol free for 9 days now. My drinking has always been in secret and my wife does not know the severity of my problem. She is out of town until Saturday night. When she returns, I plan to tell her about my problem and about the Campral. She knows I did go to the doctor this week but does not know the reason. Telling her will be a big step for me, as I have pretty much spun a web of deception these last few years to keep her and anyone else in my family from knowing. When I last tried Campral, I kept it secret because I thought I could deal with the problem on my own. Of course, I know that line of thinking is garbage and I need to be honest with my family about this.

Sorry for the long post. I look forward to reading and posting more. This seems like such a positive and nurturing place.

JS

A new beginning

Hello and Welcome JS
    Well done on 9 days AF!!!! Look forward to seeing you around. Best wishes.
    "Decide-Which Voice in Your Head you Can Keep Alive" (Shinedown)

Comment