Need Advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Need Advice

This is my first time visiting this site, and i know its been along time coming.
    Im 27, got drunk for the first time when i was 16. And since then its been on and off throughout college and until now I didnt really think anything of it. I have a strong family history of drinking problems. My mom is one of 7 and 2 of her brothers are recovering alcoholics, one brother is still an alcoholic and she just had a brother die of pancreatic CA from all the drinking and drugs.
    My situtation is that within the last year I notice that every time I go out for a night on the town or whatever, I black out. Now there are times i wake up and dont even have a hangover, but other times i wake up still drunk or with a horrible hangover... I work long hours during the week and the weekends are my time to unwind. My bestfriend insists I dont have a problem because its not like im drinking every weekend or that I need to drink but when i do go out and drink i cant say no and end up blacking out. she says i black out because im tired not because i drink too much, i think its a little of both at times. I just would really like some insight from others and advice. I dont want to quit drinking all together, but i dont know if i have a problem. honestly i maybe go out like once a month, but if i do it doesnt fail this happens...please help...im at a loss....

Need Advice

Hi BMout, welcome!!!! I wish I'd visited a site like this when I was 27, then perhaps I would have been able to stop or get help, or maybe not. Since you're here, you're ahead of many your age. Kudos to you!

Alot of us, including me, have families full of drinkers and have histories just like yours.