Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Toying with the idea of modding

Hello everyone!
    Someone suggested to me to come to this forum. I have been back and forth between the idea of abstaining and moderating. When I am feeling crappy in the first few days of abstaining I KNOW then that I don't want to drink again but as soon as I start feelin good then I toy with the idea of modding.
    I have been drinking for a couple of years now. The last year heavily and the last 6 weeks I have had about 4.5 weeks of sober time. So it is possible to mod but I am being pulled in too many directions with regards to my thinking.
    I have a counsellor appointment at the end of June. Should I try modding (only on weekends) until I see him and figure out a plan from there?
    Any advice or tips would be great! Thanks.

Hi. I certainly understand the feelings of wanting to mod. At some time, we've all had the romantic myth of sitting with a glass of wine laughing with friends, etc.

Unfortunately this disease allows us to "forget" the bad times and as someone recently pointed out it's like childbirth, once you get what you want, the bad feelings go away.

I believe that when you look at why you came here in the first place and re-read those posts, that it will be a much better reality read instead of where you are now trying to romanticize drinking.

There are many posts here of people who went back, causing more pain and heartache, etc. I suggest you read some of those and give the tool box another read.

Good luck in your "new thinking".
    Enlightened by MWO

Comment

briseus;1326936 wrote: Hello everyone!
      Someone suggested to me to come to this forum. I have been back and forth between the idea of abstaining and moderating. When I am feeling crappy in the first few days of abstaining I KNOW then that I don't want to drink again but as soon as I start feelin good then I toy with the idea of modding.