Will Someone Be My Naltrexone Mentor?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hi everyone. I'm new here, both to MWO forums in general and to this particular forum. I posted about my story more at length in the Just Getting Started forum. I am also new to online forums in general, so if I'm posting in the wrong place or referring to things incorrectly, please let me know.

The brief version: I am a 32 year old woman and don't consider myself to be an alcoholic...yet. The problem is that I think all signs point to me ending up one if I don't get a handle on my drinking. Until last night, I hadn't gone a night without drinking in months. I am drinking anywhere from 1-4 glasses of wine per night, or sometimes a cocktail and 2-3 glasses of wine. I have a very hard time stopping once I begin to get inebriated. Like a perverse little Energizer bunny, I just keep going...and going...

Having seen first hand what a hard core alcoholic looks like in my own family, I am trying to avoid it at all costs. I will go AF if I have to, and would much rather do that than go on as I have been, but I would like to try moderating first.

I began taking Naltrexone a couple of weeks ago and am finding a hard time connecting people who have taken the same route toward moderation. I would be so grateful if some kind soul who has experienced success in moderating with Nal would agree to occasionally PM or chat with me, or even just start a thread. I know everyone's experience is different, but I feel really alone in this experiment and would like have someone who could answer some questions for me/offer support.

Thank you for reading this. :new:
    With gratitude,
    NinaFaye

:new:
    The price of anything is the amount of life you exchange for it.
    Henry David Thoreau