X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Dear Garagegrat

Dear Garagerat and all,

My first posting.
    I was sorry to read of your relapse, but like many others have said, you are obviously a very strong and determined character and you will beat this curse, why? Because this is a small trip and not a continuous fall. I would suggest you write down a list (and it will be long) of all the good times and feelings you have experienced before this relapse, and your heart of hearts may tell you that the drink you are holding is a foul and miserable concoction of anger, hate, remorse, sadness, fear, loathing and most of all total despair.
    Unfortunately, I am not here to offer you a success storey, I have been drinking for 32 years and have failed in every effort and promise to stop. I do not refer to myself as an alcoholic, they seem to be people who attend the AA meetings, tell you the sad and pitiful saga?s of their lives, then listen to you spill your guts and then offer salvation through the bible, as if I am a sinner who can understand that and find I can repent.
    I have attended countless AA meetings throughout London and found them to be of no help at all. I did try, but I got lost with the storeys of drinking shampoo or aftershave, of couples splitting up as the party goer who had stopped drinking for ten years had now become boring, and was now living alone but content with the closeness of the bible and the daily attendance at church to pray that the sobriety would continue.
    As far as the bible goes? I have begged whoever may be there to help me stop, to find the strength inside to stop, or at least explain why I am cursed with it......no reply or sign flew across the sky.