Trying...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Trying...

I've been trying and failing to quit drinking for years now. I've been drinking at a dangerous amount for about 8 years now and I'm at my breaking point. I don't understand why it's so hard to just stop. I'm going to see a therapist next week and really plan on focusing on loving myself, which I think is where this all starts and ends. If I loved myself, then I doubt I would want to put myself in dangerous situations, allow myself to get sloppy in front of friends and family, or want to just shut out the world with alcohol.

Finding communities like this are huge for me to not feel so alone in my struggle. I have a goal to be AF for at least a month and then go from there. I know this thing needs to be tackled one day at a time, so I'm trying not to set lofty goals that might be overwhelming. I'm also going to be rereading This Naked Mind again, which helped me the last time I took a break.

Any advice or words of wisdom are greatly appreciated.

Welcome. I suggest you read the Toolbox, the Newbie's Nest and formulate a plan. There is much available support here so hop on board.
    Enlightened by MWO

Comment

Hi, Deja

You aren't alone. And you aren't bad or weak - you're addicted to a highly addictive substance that is legal, glamorized, and heavily promoted. Strange situation given that it is toxic to everyone each time it is consumed. This is an opportunity for you to quit poisoning yourself!

30 days is a good goal - it's long enough to clear alcohol from your system and be able to make rational choices. I hung out on MWO almost all my waking hours at the beginning. Please jump in anywhere, keep posting, and feel free to ask questions.

All the best, NS

Comment

Originally posted by dejafoo345 View Post